Rules Question - Hitting Aiming/Marker Posts

Dazinkster

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
363
Reaction score
2
Location
Stokenchurch, Bucks, United Kingdom, United Kingdo
Handicap
9.8 CONGU
Right, a playing partner had an interesting scenario come up a few weeks back that I am hoping you guys will be able to help with.

My course has a few blind driving holes, therefore there are big 6ft+ red and white aiming posts at the top of the crests (I'm sure you know the sort). Anyway, my partner teed off and crushed his drive right at this post which was about 180yds ish away. A few seconds later we hear a "clunk" as the ball proceeded to hit this post and bounce sideways and backwards approx. 75-100 yds.

Obviously this was very unlucky, but what is the ruling? At the time he played the hole out and played the ball as it lay. However, was this correct? I'm since thinking that as the aiming post isn't part of the course (i.e. you're allowed to take it out the ground if it obstructs your swing on an approach shot) it might be possible to re-play the tee shot with no penalty. Is this true?

Thanks in advance for your replies
 

Esox

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
13,621
Reaction score
168
Location
SE Cheeseland
Handicap
4.7
Rub of the green. Tough break. Next time tell him to not be quite so accurate.

Kevin
 

interlooper

Wishing I was golfing now
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
3,661
Reaction score
25
Location
Chicago, IL
Handicap
10.3
Not true, Daz. Just like hitting some dude, breaking his rolex and it bouncing several yards back... you play it where it is.
 

Smallville

#WeLoveYouAlex
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
98,700
Reaction score
455
Location
Kansas City, Kansas
Handicap
In Flux
I say Esox and interlooper are correct. In addition, I have always removed the aiming marker if it becomes an obstruction when swinging. But not if the ball hits it because of being unlucky.
 

knightgolf

Fairways & Greens
Joined
Dec 4, 2008
Messages
401
Reaction score
1
Location
Mesa, Arizona, United States
Handicap
1
Well this depends on how the course rules this. Have played course that have power lines running through them and
if you hit the line you must replay the shot. Not sure about aiming poles but thats a tough break if you have to play
it where it ends up.
 

Sunday_Hacker

Release Your Inner Diablo
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
6,631
Reaction score
9
Location
Tampa Bay, FL
Handicap
20
tough break for being too accurate
 

Dazinkster

New member
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
363
Reaction score
2
Location
Stokenchurch, Bucks, United Kingdom, United Kingdo
Handicap
9.8 CONGU
Yep, we thought we we're right at the time. Cheers for the confirmation/responses.

Incedentally on that particular hole I always aim 5 yards right of the marker as I believe its a better line. I think I'll also never aim directly at a marker again, that way if I hit one I'll only have myself to blame as it'll be slightly offline ;)
 

Fourputt

Head Rules Official
Joined
Jun 30, 2009
Messages
3,153
Reaction score
26
Location
Logan County, Colorado
Handicap
17.0
Well this depends on how the course rules this. Have played course that have power lines running through them and
if you hit the line you must replay the shot. Not sure about aiming poles but thats a tough break if you have to play
it where it ends up.
That is a local rule which is approved only for power lines. Doesn't apply to anything else.
 

Chorister

New member
Joined
Aug 5, 2010
Messages
82
Reaction score
0
Location
Northern Virginia
Your friend, and everybody else who has answered, is correct -- it's crummy luck. Just went to USGA's site and looked it up. From Decisions on the Rules of Golf:
19-1/1 Ball Deflected by Direction Post
Q. A ball is deflected by a direction post. What is the ruling?
A. It is a rub of the green and the ball must be played as it lies, without penalty.
 

Snap Hook

I before E,excpt Titleist
Joined
Jun 11, 2010
Messages
2,756
Reaction score
21
Location
Las Vegas
Handicap
3 SNGA
The local muni here has got those black and white poles as 150y markers, stuck into the groun right in the middle of the fairway. I watched this old man go full bore right into one with his golf cart. he flew out of his cart atleast 4 feet. Everyone nearby heard the crash and came to his aide. He was OK. What I further remember is watching the greenskeeper put the Pole back into the ground a full 11-12 yards too CLOSE. Kept my mouth quiet and and it's come in handy twice so far with my buddies. :D

Anyways, back to subject, it clearly states on the scorecards if your drive hits that pole you're SOL.
I hit that pole one time and I ended up bogeying the hole and finishing within two strucks of My personal record on that course. Karma's a female dog.
 

Postman

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
523
Reaction score
8
Location
North Las Vegas
Handicap
17
Hitting yardage pole

Hitting yardage pole

I hit a pretty decent drive yesterday that struck the barber's pole in the fairway,what should have been a 120 to 130 yd approach(ball was rolling fast)instead became a 170 yard approach,anybody know the rule for hitting the pole?I just played it where it landed.
 

coolbreeze

Aspiring Golferr
Joined
Sep 19, 2010
Messages
22,092
Reaction score
139
Location
Victoria, BC
Handicap
RCGA 8.9
Yep, really bad luck, but you just play the ball as it lies.
 

golf4life

Grip n rip
Joined
Jun 2, 2010
Messages
3,547
Reaction score
14
Location
South Jersey
Handicap
9
Yup, you did the right thing, play it as it lies after hitting the pole. If the pole interferes with your shot, you can remove it temporarily (at least every yardage pole I've encountered can be removed).
 

Esox

New member
Joined
Aug 12, 2009
Messages
13,621
Reaction score
168
Location
SE Cheeseland
Handicap
4.7
Rub of the green.

Kevin
 

wcueb923

New member
Joined
Feb 13, 2011
Messages
3,359
Reaction score
7
Location
Fl
Handicap
19
Play it where it lies. Sucks but If you dont want 2 follow pick it upand throw it forward....hehe just kidding
 

TripleBogieTim

Long lost sheep
Joined
Oct 22, 2010
Messages
22,246
Reaction score
47
Location
Houston, Texas, United States
Handicap
my swing
Yep, just a tough break....a few weeks back I hit a 240 yard three wood into a par 5, ball landed on a sprinkler head on the edge of the green on the fly and proceeded to bounce 50 feet in the air, cleared the green and into the water hazard behind the green. Same difference...you lost 30 - 40 yards, I went from being on in 2 with an eagle putt to a 40 yard pitch shot for birdie and grinding to make par......all just part of the game.
 

Smallville

#WeLoveYouAlex
Joined
Oct 16, 2008
Messages
98,700
Reaction score
455
Location
Kansas City, Kansas
Handicap
In Flux
Merged threads.
 

jeremyheslop

Active member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
1,161
Reaction score
1
Location
Eastern Shore of Maryland
Handicap
13
I haven't hit any aim/yardage posts, but boy have I hit a few red hazard and white OB posts already. I'm still confused how a 2-4 inch post can be hit so many times!
 

Welcome to The Hackers Paradise

Don't just play golf, live it!

Register Log in
Top