Seeking Some Electrical Advice

fairwaynut

Bettinardi Aficionado
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
SingleMalt
Since the wife and I have made the move to a condo I've noticed that when I put a plug in an electrical outlet I'm getting a spark. Is this an indication that maybe the electrical outlets in my home are not grounded? Or is this nothing to worry about. I'm not an electrician so I have no knowledge of these things. Some advice would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
I'm guessing the humidity is low and what you're seeing is static discharge.

It's also possible to get mild sparking when you plug something in that's turned on, due to inadvertent make/break/make as you do so.

That being said: I always recommend new homeowners acquire a circuit tester such as this: GFCI Receptacle Tester by Klein Tools and test all the outlets. You never know what a previous homeowner may have done ;) Even if it's new construction: Electricians are only human. They make mistakes, too.

It's also possible to get mild sparking when you plug something in that's turned on, due to inadvertent make/break/make as you do so.

Most likely this. Even 120 volt household voltage is enough to create a small arc. Except for very low current loads that are not equipped with a switch, turn off devices before plugging or unplugging.

Most likely this. Even 120 volt household voltage is enough to create a small arc. Except for very low current loads that are not equipped with a switch, turn off devices before plugging or unplugging.
That is exactly what I do, shot off the devices before unplugging and plugging back in. Still worried about the sparking though.