Sim vs Range lessons

J_Gold

Reaction score
Theres a very good coach in my local area who has coached at a national team level but he only has access to a sim (not sure which brand) and a small 9 hole course on hotel grounds. I have never used a sim before so I was wondering what you guys think? An elite coach without substantial practice facilities or a decent coach but with access to a range?

Oh, wow! I don't think a Sim can come close to a range with a launch monitor. BUT, if the instructor is as good as you say, go with the better instructor. You can gain good habits on a sim, just not as good as a range session.

I think it will depend on which one you are more comfortable with. Elite doesn't always mean better as it pertains to working with an individual, it certainly could be though.
For me the sim would depend on size of bay. Club Champion like? No problem at all on my end. Small and tucked away, I might struggle a bit.

I would say the key phase in your question is elite coach. Assuming you want to work on swing. I would say yes, even if hitting off of linoleum. Hitting from a matt or turf is different, no doubt, but I don't think that will have an impact on instruction. Having instant data can be helpful too.

I think a good coach can help your game using a sim, but I think it's more about whether that coach is a good fit for you.

Looks like @JB beat me to it.

I think it will depend on which one you are more comfortable with. Elite doesn't always mean better as it pertains to working with an individual, it certainly could be though.
For me the sim would depend on size of bay. Club Champion like? No problem at all on my end. Small and tucked away, I might struggle a bit.

The first part of your response is interesting. I haven't thought about comfort level and fit. I've been generally lucky but could easily imagine situations where I would flail with some instruction styles and approaches, even if world class. Good to keep in mind.