Smart Home Devices

DB86

Reaction score
Handicap
Didn’t really see a thread dedicated to this. Maybe I overlooked it.
Anyway...is there any other smart home nerds out there. I am a beginner, but I love these type of gadgets. Currently I am using the Samsung Smartthings Hub. I have some locks, door/window sensors, light switches and temperature sensors integrated. It is a work in progress, but I hope to get it how I want it soon. Anyone else have these in their home?

I’ve got thermostats, a smart bulb, smart switches of a couple of flavors all controlled by SmartThings.

Check out webcore for SmartThings, the functionality you’ll get is well worth the slight learning curve.

I’ve been going down the Amazon Alexa compatible route. Most devices work well but the ecosystem isn’t the biggest.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Cool thread, will definitely be interested to see everyone’s setup. I’ve been thinking about investing in a smart bulb system.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Cool thread, will definitely be interested to see everyone’s setup. I’ve been thinking about investing in a smart bulb system.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

I wholeheartedly recommend switches vs bulbs. Especially if you have multi bulb fixtures.

I’ve been going down the Amazon Alexa compatible route. Most devices work well but the ecosystem isn’t the biggest.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
That's where we're at too, have been looking at the other devices and the hub to go along with it, just haven't ironed out all the details yet.

HAs anyone picked up a new amazon echo as compared to the other generations? Ive heard the sound quality is waaaaaay better.

We were gifted an Amazon Alexa last month and have since expanded to a couple Dots around the house and a smart plug for some lights. I've been eyeing a Nest thermostat as well.

For me personally the best "smart home" devices are:

-thermostats (nest in my case)