Software developers. Talk to me.

Davidhibler

Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
A bit of career talk on here lately. I know we have a wide variety of backgrounds represented here on THP, so I know I can get some good advice here.

I've been considering a career change, and this is one that keeps popping back up. I'm not even sure why. I don't even know anyone who is a developer...it just seems like it might fit my personality better than what I have been doing.
Yes, I realize it would be a TON of work to get to where I need to be to even interview.

I do have a degree, but not a CS degree(business/economics). If I decided to go this route, I would go mostly self taught, and maybe some certs.

For the last 8 years, I have worked for a Canadian bank, who also has a footprint here on the east coast. I am a Credit analyst/underwriter in the auto finance space.

My coding experience is minimal, and maybe 15-20years ago, so we will just say I have no experience.

So who can help me out with some questions-

Is this a dumb plan?
Do you EVER see middle aged guys starting as junior developers? I'm 39
What is your average day like at this level?
What am I not thinking about here?

Thanks, THP. 👊

I have no CS advice for you, but it’s cool to learn what your career is now, as I do a ton of legal work in the auto finance and lending space. It’s an interesting field, and one that not many people understand when they buy a car.

I have no CS advice for you, but it’s cool to learn what your career is now, as I do a ton of legal work in the auto finance and lending space. It’s an interesting field, and one that not many people understand when they buy a car.

Yeah, lots of secrets.
Makes me never want to buy a car again 🤣