Software developers. Talk to me.

I remember @Davidhibler had started this thread some time ago. I have a bunch of free time in the evenings and a close friend of mine said I should look into coding.
I am no professional or computer guru, but I have the willingness to learn. I understand it might take years, but I am willing to take the challenge.

I am starting to learn python at Harvard's CS50's intro to programming in python to get my feet wet and start understanding the concept of coding and python.
The course is free and the course is about 9 weeks long. I wanted to see what other tools I can use to make myself python proficient. Is there a service I can pay for that will teach me A through Z on python and coding? Eventually, I want to reach the point of getting certified one day. I started doing some really basic coding last night and I did enjoy it.

Python pros out there, please lend me your help.

side note: I do not have a BS or MA in computer science. I have a BS and MA in communications.
Coursera and udemy have a bunch of stuff. There is also more stuff on edex.

Generally, any type of certification in the field is not worth the money you're spending on it - experience and portfolio is going to be more useful in terms of convincing employers you can do the work they need. I can't think of any time I've considered any type of certification for the folks we've hired in the last two companies I've been at.

My suggestion - find online courses that "click" with you, and think about some things you want to build to solve problems you have and build them. And while you're learning, make sure you internalize how things work and why they're implemented as they are in examples. That's often when things will go south in interviews I'm giving - I'll ask why a design choice was made, and the candidate will be unable to come up with an answer besides "that's how I learned it".