Steel shaft on driver cured my driving woes

Smurf1000

Reaction score
Handicap
Hello everyone. I'm a newbie here, but just felt I had to share this.

I'm about an 18 handicap, whose been playing golf since my father taught me to play in the 70's.

I grew up on persimmon, just like most folks my age, and transitioned to medal woods as they became available. My favorite driver was the original Taylor Made "Pittsburgh Persimmon" with a steel shaft.

THE PROBLEM

In later years I transitioned to the modern drivers with over-sized heads and graphite shafts. That is when my driver woes started..... While I hit some really amazing drives with these drivers, my control completely left me. In the 15 years of trying to use these drivers I could never hit them consistently.

When I miss with today's drivers I "really" miss. My typical miss was a block right that went about 40 degrees right of target and usually ended up OB. You just can't aim far enough left to compensate for how far right I would hit it. If that wasn't bad enough, I would also occasional hook or pull way left. Some days on the driving range I would only hit drives way left or way right.

The rest of my game is fairly solid (for an 18 handicap) and I always felt I could drop my handicap by at least 5 if I could just get off the tee consistently.

The best phrase to describe how I drive the ball is "one fairway and two houses". On any given round, I could hit as many as 6 drives completely out of play.

The problem is I just couldn't "feel" the club at the bottom of the swing with my driver like I can with the rest of the clubs in my bag.

ATTEMPTED SOLUTIONS

I tried adding lead tape, but found that this produced little change.

I tried a shorter shaft (43") , which helped a little, especially as I am so short (5" 3"), but it did not cure my issues by any stretch.

Callaway 3-Deep