Take out new, non-fit sticks today?

imabadgolfer

Reaction score
Handicap
15ish
I've been playing big Ping Rapture shovels w/stiff AWT for around 9 years, they are large, lotsa offset, UGI clubs that I know well, distances are all dialed in.
I bought a set of Z 565's, which are much smaller, much less offset, w/R shafts, and they haven't been fitted yet(lie board today after golf, LM for yardage info Friday night).
I've only hit 1 bucket with these, and unfortunately, it was off mats, and I'm a digger, so it wasn't a great assessment (I had to choke down a bit)... pretty darn certain they need to be bent flat, and I have no distance #'s for them(lofts are stronger of course).
Today's round is informal, on a wide forgiving course that I know very well.
Should I take them out for a test drive, knowing distances are off, and that they are too upright?
I can choke down on them a bit for the lie, and use that to also keep the distances close, but I have a feeling it could get messy.
I wanna do it, but even with the course conditions above, I'd still like to shoot decent.

What say you?

Thanks

I’d take them out. You’ll know what you need to change. I’m thinking about it like the Handcrafted Experience test shaft - get some feedback, give it to your fitter.

Last edited:
Yeah, I've been going back and forth with this for the last 2 days, 1 minute yes, next minute no...

I guess I can just say:
"I'm giving you guys a chance today"?

Always have to take the new sticks out for a test drive!

Sent from HTX

Let's see....old clubs you want to replace or new clubs you still have to get used to....NEW CLUBS!

You can get a gauge on any lie angle adjustments with the divots you are leaving or ball flight and could be able to get general distances down pretty quickly (they don't change that much in this transition).

Take them out.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk