This sucks, kind of...callaway X-20

willybilly

Reaction score
Handicap
So I'm kind of new to golf--I just started last July--and was in need of good irons. I don't know, something wrong about going golfing and seeing everybody with these fancy clubs and I'm stuck with Top Flite...I kind of bought into the whole I've gotta get good clubs thing.

Anyway, I had been saving up for a while. On Thursday, I told my golfing instructor that I'm gong to buy Callaway X-22's. So he told me he'd be able to get me a deal and get me the specs he feels I need, which I think was like a stiff flex and +50 extra length. So, I was like cool with it. Then, he called me and told me he could get me x-20's for like 400 bucks. He wouldn't be able to get a longer club or a stiff shaft because Callaway only sold X-20's standard length and uniflex shaft. So I was cool with that. I was gonna have new clubs, baby!!!

Well, now I've been doing some research and it turns out that the Callaway x-20's are NG, which means that the perimeter weighting isn't 360 degrees, it's 180. There's also no borethrough hole, or whatever it's called. What the heck! So are these clubs gonna suck or what? I've never even seen a Callaway club that didn't have that bore through thing through the hosel. I don't know. Thinking I may have gotten hosed on this deal. He's a good instructor though.

Does anybody know anything about these NG X-20's? Are they still good? I should have kept my mouth closed and just ordered the X-22's.

When I worked at golf galaxy people loved the x-20's. I think you will be fine.

those are essintealy the same as the regular x-20s but they conform to the new groove rules although i wouldnt of bought the x-22s you got a great set

Like they said, they are the same, but with the new grooves. The retail for $400 I believe from Callaway directly.