Those with kids: When did you introduce them to golf?

MWard

I do not play well with others
Albatross 2024 Club
Staff member
Reaction score
Handicap
Our little one watches me pretty intently when I'm putting in the house. I'd love to take her golfing with me when she's old enough, but I don't know when it'd be a good age to start letting her do stuff like chip and putt. I figure it won't be for at least another year, but wanted to get the advice of ya'll who have their kids into the game!

This has Lydia Ko parents written all over it : )

This year will be when I introduce her truly. She's got a us kids club and her length seemore, but I just let her play with them the past year so that they were around.

She knows what I do for a living though and now actively asks of I can teach her, so this summer she will go to practices with me and start working with our girls coach who is awesome with kiddos.

This has Lydia Ko parents written all over it : )

Noooooo no no. I can't stand Lydia's or Michelle's parents. Introduce, then let her decide if she wants to stick with it or not. Forcing it just seems like using your kid as a paycheck :/

I bought my daughter plastic clubs when she was probably 4 and took her to the course that summer. I bought both of my kids cheap 3 club sets this last year, my daughter was 6 and son was 3. I've taken them both to the driving range this last summer and plan on getting Claire on the course this year, at her urging. Actually she wants to do a date day with me and go to the simulator. She's a good girl .

My oldest never paid attention. I took my youngest once when he was 5 and he asks to go all the time, but he is far from playing around the house.

I haven't yet decided if his infatuation is with the cart. lol