Titleist 704 cb (2005) vs AP2 716

Beeez

Reaction score
I'm currently playing a set of Titleist 704 CB irons since 2005 they have performed well when I've done my part. I have limited experience with the 716AP2. What has been everyone's thoughts on comparing Therese two models if you've tried both?

You are going to gain significant advantage in launch with the AP2 which will likely translate into more distance and better stopping power on the greens. Forgiveness on off center strikes is going to also provide significant improvement.

Although I'd probably be better off waiting to try out the 718 Ap2 coming out soon. I enjoy the 704 CB. It was a great Club. It was forged stainless. I would definitely love to improved my distance some, have a softer feel, and, and some forgiveness. I think my whole set is going to be overhauled between now and next spring. All clubs have served me well but I think after 12+ years there's been enough advancements to spring for some new ones.

As I still play the 690 CB (2002) I have been in the same though process for sometime. I have not played the AP2 on course but I have hit them on the range some. I did not see a big difference in the performance of them, but I really think getting fitted and having the correct shafts would make a big difference. I did try the AP1s for a couple of months but the look if the larger head just didn't suit me. The also had graphite shafts and Regular flex compared to my stiff steel shafts in my CBs. the only problem was they were so light I kept loosing the head in my swing. I did pick up 10 yards per club, just had no ideal were the ball would be going, so with the forgiveness of the AP2s and the right shaft it should be a winner for both of us.

Now I'm waiting to see the new AP3 as that maybe the best of both worlds!

I have the 716 ap2 and love them. Going to newish irons from irons that are 12 years old will give you a significant improvement in performance