USGA Rulings: Did you know this?

That’s an interesting ruling. One that may come in handy sometime.
But then this one totally blew my mind!


That's crazy..............don't think I would ever try that trick out.
 
I wasn’t aware of that. I can’t recall putting into a trap but that makes a ton of sense.

My sand play was so bad a couple of years ago that I thought about taking unplayable lies at times and dropping outside the bunker Which comes with a 2 stroke penalty.
 
o_O I could have used this Monday. Thanks
 
I wasn’t aware of that. I can’t recall putting into a trap but that makes a ton of sense.

My sand play was so bad a couple of years ago that I thought about taking unplayable lies at times and dropping outside the bunker Which comes with a 2 stroke penalty.
What’s being lost on the first video though is that you can take stroke and distance at any time according to the USGA, not just when one putts into a bunker haha
 
What’s being lost on the first video though is that you can take stroke and distance at any time according to the USGA, not just when one putts into a bunker haha

I did get that. If I am ever in that situation where I putt off the green into a bunker like that I would definitely take the stroke and distance. You would likely have a hard time convincing your partners that it is within the rules.
 
I'm shocked about this rule. I'm saving this video for sure because I feel if I was to use it, no one would ever believe me.
 
Filing this one away for future use.
 
I did get that. If I am ever in that situation where I putt off the green into a bunker like that I would definitely take the stroke and distance. You would likely have a hard time convincing your partners that it is within the rules.
This is where the rule book app is the best.

I shut up maaaaaany coaches over the years when using the rules in my players favor by busting that out.
 
That's crazy..............don't think I would ever try that trick out.
I knew the stroke and distance one long ago but wasn’t aware of this crazy rule!
 
No, has to have stayed in play.
Not sure it has to stay in play. I thought you could use it anywhere at pretty much any time.

18.1 Relief Under Penalty of Stroke and Distance Allowed at Any Time​

At any time, a player may take stroke-and-distance relief by adding one penalty stroke and playing the original ball or another ball from where the previous stroke was made (see Rule 14.6).

The player always has this stroke-and-distance relief option:

  • No matter where the player’s ball is on the course, and
  • Even when a Rule requires the player to take relief in a certain way or to play a ball from a certain place.
 
Not sure it has to stay in play. I thought you could use it anywhere at pretty much any time.

18.1 Relief Under Penalty of Stroke and Distance Allowed at Any Time​

At any time, a player may take stroke-and-distance relief by adding one penalty stroke and playing the original ball or another ball from where the previous stroke was made (see Rule 14.6).

The player always has this stroke-and-distance relief option:

  • No matter where the player’s ball is on the course, and
  • Even when a Rule requires the player to take relief in a certain way or to play a ball from a certain place.
Fair enough. I thought I read something about it needing to be in the course of play but maybe I’m misinterpreting that.
 
1746728459064.png

I'm reading the replies and this sound very interesting. Unfortunately I can't see what it says. Is this the 18.1 rule in video format?
 
Why isn't this done more. Does it work if you putt into water?
You could yes. Anytime you hit into a penalty area, you can choose to replay the shot from the previous spot.
 
That’s an interesting ruling. One that may come in handy sometime.
But then this one totally blew my mind!

What the hell are golf rules anymore 😂😂
 
It’s such a niche situation. Ive known you can call anything as an unplayable and replay from the previous spot with 1 stroke, but never been in a situation where it might help me.

Maybe I think about it more when I blade a green side chip or something but I’ve honestly never putted a ball off the green into a terrible situation haha.
 
Dang, I should've remembered that a few weeks ago after chipping from behind the green and having it roll long into a deep bunker front of green that has like a 6ft flat face to a short sided pin - took an 8 on that par 4, two to get out of the bunker. Taking stroke and distance probably could've saved 2 shots there. Next time.
 
Whoa baby!!! 🤯
 
Never knew that about stroke and distance. I’ve had a few times where I’ve skulled short chips to bad lies behind the green short and end up short sided. This rule would have come in handy.
 
Is this real?
 
Back
Top