kiwichris

Team Smoked Charcuterie
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
Golf
Looking for any tips on how to fix my wedge impact issues. Every time I see ball impact o it by the toe of the club.
I know I’m naturally quite steep and inside but I’m looking for any quick tips for setup that may help bring that impact back to the middle.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Address the ball on the heel?

Don't take this to heart as I'm no pro but to help flatten out the swing you can try slightly buckling your knees outward. A drill to work on this would be to put a small medicine ball between your knees. It helps to keep the back knee from buckling and coming through which makes you get steep. I struggle with coming in to steep and my buddy told me to do this. He is a +3 or so and grew up getting lessons from Ryan Chrysler who works with DJ, Woodland, Els, etc. at Butch Harmon Floridian. My buddy definitely learned a lot about the golf swing. He will tell me what he thinks he's doing, have me video it to send to Ryan and sure enough that's what Ryan says he's doing wrong.

It's easy to think that to hit a wedge you have to slip the leading edge of the clubhead in between the ball and the ground. Maybe that's what is causing your problem. Try thinking instead of sliding the sole of the club along the ground, just like you do when you make your practice strokes.

First thing I would look at is where is the ball at address? Is it towards the toe at address as well as impact?
If it is, then look at changing your setup position so that the ball is more centred on the club face

A drill I once saw somewhere talked about being able to move your point of impact using this technique
Try putting a tee in the ground inside the ball and then focus on missing the tee during the swing rather than focusing on the ball impact
You can also do the opposite if you tend to strike the ball on the heel