What irons should I make sure I check out in my fitting next week

Chef23

2023 Srixon Experience
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
I have a fitting scheduled next Wednesday at Cool Clubs Boston. The fitting is going to be focused on irons and hybrids although we agreed I would make some driver swings to check out a couple of different shafts I have for my Mavrik.

My background is that I am currently a 3 index give or take depending on how the recent rounds have gone. I played between 0-2 handicap for my mid 20s to early 40s when I basically stopped playing except for customer golf due to chasing my kids around athletic events. I am 54 now and the kids are older and I have time again. About 4 years ago I had a serious illness from which I am completely recovered but a 9 month period of total inactivity sapped my clubhead speed which at my age is hard to recover. I have been working in the gym to build that back and it feels like there is a bit more speed right now but I haven't been able to get fresh numbers.

I have some launch monitor numbers from last year but I think I have a bit more speed right now. Current irons are Ping i200 with Steelfiber i95 stiff. Clubhead speed 82.7, ballspeed 111.6, smash 1.35, backspin 5368, carry 157. I hit the Pings very accurately from 6i-PW. 5 iron can be a little inconsistent.

I am looking to pick up some distance if possible. I don't want to sacrifice accuracy for that or the ability to control trajectory. I do tend to flight the ball down a fair amount and that is an important part of my game. If I can't pick up 5-7 yards of carry I likely won't make a purchase. My plan is to totally put myself in the fitters hands but I am going to have a few heads that I want to hit to see how they perform. Right now that list includes Mavrik Pro, Apex/Apex Pro, i210, Cobra FT. I am interested in the Epic Forged but not sure I want to write that check.