george777

New member
Joined
Jun 12, 2017
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Handicap
36
A little controversy came up in a match last week. I was off the green about 10 feet away from the pin and another player was on the green, but about 40 feet from the cup. I always thought that in that case, even though I was not on the green,the other player was "away" and should have putted. Normally not an issue except the other guy thinks he invented the rules of golf. Am I wrong? thanks
 

CobraX51

F-ck Yeah Baby!
Albatross 2019 Club
Joined
Mar 30, 2010
Messages
6,967
Reaction score
11
Location
Tampa,FL
Handicap
9.0
Ready Golf. We'll ask and if the player who is further away isn't ready or says for us to finish up then we do.

Really doesn't make a difference to me.

In your case I would also say the player off the green is considered away.
 

JourdanInMich

Fancy Boi
Albatross 2019 Club Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Apr 30, 2015
Messages
6,188
Reaction score
835
Location
Metro Detroit
Handicap
14.2
He’s technically away, but in my opinion, just play ready golf. We aren’t pros.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

darthweasel

New member
Joined
Apr 1, 2015
Messages
1,004
Reaction score
0
Location
Beaverton
Handicap
16.8
A little controversy came up in a match last week. I was off the green about 10 feet away from the pin and another player was on the green, but about 40 feet from the cup. I always thought that in that case, even though I was not on the green,the other player was "away" and should have putted. Normally not an issue except the other guy thinks he invented the rules of golf. Am I wrong? thanks
I had always thought it was the guy off the green but I just checked and rule 10-1B says I am wrong. Distance, not whether on or off green, does indeed determine it. Funnily enough, your exact scenario, including the exact same numbers, was in a March 31st 2009 Golf Digest article. Solid question and I learned something looking up the answer, I have been wrong on this one for years.
 

c0ncept

SFT
Albatross 2019 Club
Joined
Aug 8, 2011
Messages
8,495
Reaction score
11
Location
Bothell, WA, United States
Handicap
10
In a match he is away.
 

ddec

Well-known member
Albatross 2019 Club
Staff member
Joined
Sep 2, 2009
Messages
73,020
Reaction score
487
Location
NY
Handicap
The Driver
In a match he is away.
correct. Unless you've agreed to play ready golf, it should be his shot and not yours. If he wanted to be a stickler, you could hole your chip, and he could tell you it didn't count because it was technically his shot. That happened to Annika once.
 

PJSprog

Hack Musician / Golfer
Joined
Aug 2, 2017
Messages
1,025
Reaction score
36
Location
Southern Illinois, USA
Handicap
28
I always thought it was the player not on the green as well. Thanks for the edjumacation.
 

McLovin

feelz good 2 b a Gsta
Albatross 2019 Club Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Jul 23, 2014
Messages
26,331
Reaction score
1,521
Location
orlando
Handicap
6.8
I always thought it was the player not on the green as well. Thanks for the edjumacation.
i think that's true for stroke play, but could be wrong. in match play, i think it's just distance from the hole.
 

campilobaxter

Sliding through impact
Albatross 2019 Club
Joined
Sep 25, 2011
Messages
4,437
Reaction score
176
Location
Las Vegas, NV
Handicap
11.0
i think that's true for stroke play, but could be wrong. in match play, i think it's just distance from the hole.
Oh crap, even more confusion.

I always thought in stroke play that you wait to putt until everyone is on the green (unless you're playing ready golf). Then you determine who is furthest out.
 

cbaker2882

#teamneversleep
Albatross 2019 Club Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Dec 5, 2014
Messages
26,780
Reaction score
627
Location
CLE
Handicap
7.4
i think that's true for stroke play, but could be wrong. in match play, i think it's just distance from the hole.
I thought it was true in both scenario's that the player physically further away was the one up. I could be wrong as well haha
 

slimjim32

Active member
Albatross 2019 Club
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Messages
709
Reaction score
218
Location
San Diego
Handicap
3.0
Interesting. I would have assumed the player off the green was away. But at the same time, physically the player on the green is away so I would have questioned myself on that one. But good to know for my clubs match play that just started
 

Tee1Up

Member
Joined
Sep 21, 2013
Messages
287
Reaction score
6
Handicap
8.8
We always play "If you have to ask it is you".
 

-CRW-

Keeping things real...
Joined
Sep 5, 2013
Messages
7,966
Reaction score
140
Location
Texas
Handicap
12.5
I thought it was true in both scenario's that the player physically further away was the one up. I could be wrong as well haha
You are correct. However, there is no penalty in stroke play for playing out of order. In match play, you can make the opponent replay the shot. It's Rule "6.4 Order of Play When Playing Hole".

http://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr&section=rule&rulenum=6&subrulenum=4
 

radiman

Well-known member
Albatross 2019 Club Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Dec 26, 2012
Messages
2,853
Reaction score
829
Location
MN
Handicap
2.8
I am trying to envision a scenario where this turns into an actual controversy. Maybe a friendly disagreement of sorts? I know what the rules are. But, we have always just had whoever is off the green go then everybody gets ready to putt.
 

IceyShanks

NiceyThanks
Albatross 2019 Club Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Apr 28, 2010
Messages
48,847
Reaction score
148
Location
Nebraska
Ready Golf. We'll ask and if the player who is further away isn't ready or says for us to finish up then we do.

Really doesn't make a difference to me.

In your case I would also say the player off the green is considered away.
Ditto for me as well
 

McLovin

feelz good 2 b a Gsta
Albatross 2019 Club Albatross 2020 Club
Joined
Jul 23, 2014
Messages
26,331
Reaction score
1,521
Location
orlando
Handicap
6.8
You are correct. However, there is no penalty in stroke play for playing out of order. In match play, you can make the opponent replay the shot. It's Rule "6.4 Order of Play When Playing Hole".

https://www.usga.org/content/usga/home-page/rules/rules-2019/rules-of-golf/rules-and-interpretations.html#!ruletype=fr§ion=rule&rulenum=6&subrulenum=4
interesting. i always thought in stroke play you played until everyone was on the green. i didn't know the guy with the lengthy putt on the green is technically supposed to go before the guy with a short-sided bunker shot, chip, pitch, etc.
 

Welcome to The Hackers Paradise

Don't just play golf, live it!

Register Log in
Top