Why Are You Playing the Ball That You Do?

Jeff Spicoli

Grandaddy X!!!!!
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
Mr. Hand
I'm curious why you are playing the ball that you currently do. How did you choose it? What performance aspect is most important to you? Is it greenside spin? Distance off driver or irons? Feel?

I am pretty picky about what I want out of a golf ball and once I find something that works, I stick with it.

If you don't have a regular ball that you play, why not?

It works around the green and keeps flight slightly lower on approach.

It's the best match for my current swing and clubs. That's it. Every year, or month, or round that's what determines it.

I play the CSX LS.

I'm a low spin driver guy that likes a firm ball. That one's not actually low spin off the tee and works well for me with most of the drivers I like.

My irons spin a little bit more than my previous set, and I'm particular about feels and numbers here too. I love that
I can hit the windows I want throughout with this ball. Let's me hit different shots and hit my numbers. I don't lose them in the long/mid irons in the wind or tough conditions, and the hard 9 iron that's kind of a tough shot for just about everyone doesn't overspin in those situations and come up short.

And it's downright amazing on wedge approach. Better than V1x and rivals CSX on full wedge. And it's pretty damn good strong the greens.

It's just a great ball and I love when it fits what I'm playing.

I dove into the Chrome Soft family last year. Wanted something with a more concise alignment aid for putting. I’ve since bounced around within - have gamed all three at some point. I usually find myself back with the OG Chrome Soft, Triple Track. I love the feel around the greens. It’s just a very visually pleasing golf ball. I love all of the different Truvis options as well for a fun change of pace.

I’m really excited to see what Callaway has in store.