Your Golf Game Today Vs 5 Years Ago

Lions81

Reaction score
Handicap
What is the state of your game now vs what it was 5 years ago? Has your handicap improved, stayed the same, or gotten worse?

What areas of your game have improved? What have gotten worse? Do you take golf more seriously now or back then? Those are just a few ideas.

To answer my own questions,

5 years ago I was about an 8 handicap. Today my index is 3.6. Overall my game has become better, however there are areas where I feel I have both improved but also gotten worse. Today I'm a better driver of the ball, and a better iron player, and a MUCH better course manager. However I think my short game has actually taken a step backwards unless I really practice it. My putting has also slightly declined from back then.

I would say I take the game more seriously now. I read about golf a lot more (thanks to THP), play in more competitive events, and probably care more about playing well than I did vs 5 years ago.

What is the state of your game now vs what it was 5 years ago? My game overall is MUCH better.
Has your handicap improved, stayed the same, or gotten worse? Handicap has improved.
What areas of your game have improved? Every single area except for putting is much better than it was.
What have gotten worse? Putting. I used to be pretty automatic and comfortable but for the last couple years I'm grinding big time on the greens.
Do you take golf more seriously now or back then? Probably more seriously back then.

What is the state of your game now vs what it was 5 years ago?
Much improved

Has your handicap improved, stayed the same, or gotten worse?
Improved

What areas of your game have improved?
Driving, pitching, chipping

What have gotten worse?
Possibly less distance because of aging

Do you take golf more seriously now or back then?
I believe so.

Lastly, my understanding of the game, strategy and technique far exceeds what understanding of it I had five years ago