Installing grips -- strange problem

DejaGolf

Reaction score
Handicap
I've installed dozens of grips. I'm not a pro.

The shaft:
Apex Edge regular flex graphite shafts (on Hogan 2002 Apex Edge irons). From all I can research, these shafts are .600. Note that the top 3 or 4 inches of shaft is different than the rest. It is not shiny, but matte. Hard to get the original grip tape off. There is no seam where this different section connects to the shiny portion of the shaft. It is smooth.

The grips:
I'm trying to install Lamkin Crossline .600 midsize. I'm using Dynacraft tape 10" and mineral spirits, I also tried lighter fluid. I shake the grip with fluid, drizzle it over grip with tape, spread it out with my hand, pinch the end of the grip and on we go.

I get them on about 6 inches, then it's like glue. It is like the tape turns sticky, or the grip narrows near the bottom 1/3.

Tried everything.

The only way I can get them on is to wait until the next day, shove the coat hanger down, feed in the mineral spirits, twist and turn until the grip moves, the push and strain until the grip is totally on.

How on earth do I install these grips? Are they too large? Is my equipment off for some reason? Any ideas or info?

Sorry if this is a deja vu question.

This issue sounds really bizarre. I tried to look up the shaft as well and everything I am seeing is .600. The only time I have ever had a tough time installing a grip was putting a .600 grip on a .650 butt shaft. Maybe try to add air to the intallation process in addition to what you are already doing. Blowing some air in the butt cap will certainly help to slide it on easier.

Yeah, probably...but I don't have compressed air.

moooooooore fluid, soak the tape first

Another vote for more solvent. Any time I have ever had to fight a grip it is because I was being stingy with the solvent.

You can never have too much lube

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk