Convince me why I shouldn’t swing hard at wedges

McLovin

grateful for this community
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
Handicap
Better players will say not to make a full swing with a wedge. Why not?

If it’s control, then why make a full swing with any shot into a green? Wouldn’t the goal always be for control, regardless of whether you’re 75 yards or 175 yards?

I hear it all the time, I just don’t understand why it’s “better” to make a partial swing with a wedge. So, please to explain!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Better players will say not to make a full swing with a wedge. Why not?

If it’s control, then why make a full swing with any shot into a green? Wouldn’t the goal always be for control, regardless of whether you’re 75 yards or 175 yards?

I hear it all the time, I just don’t understand why it’s “better” to make a partial swing with a wedge. So, please to explain!

I am far from an expert (You witnessed my swing in Orlando) but I asked the same thing to my instructor when taking lessons specifically on my wedges. What I found through hitting on a launch monitor was that my 3/4 swing with a wedge went as far as my full swing. It launched a little lower and had less spin but was an easier swing and I put shots closer to the pin. My instructor told me that there are many golfers whose 3/4 swing goes farther than their full swing because on full shots they spin up, get higher, and lose distance. For me, a full shot brings in a lot more opportunity for mistake in hitting it thin/fat or pulling it offline. A smooth, 3/4 swing almost always yields better results for me. As for your second question about other irons, I have tried recently to club up and hit 3/4 swings with my scoring irons. So far it has been mixed results so I'm not seeing the same advantage that I am with my wedges but it could certainly be technique that needs improvement for me.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Edited.. didn't realize this was swing tips for Freddie.