Do You Feel Guilty?

cyoung2ty

Reaction score
Handicap
For some background... I just turned 39 a week ago, but I've been playing golf since I was 13 years old. For most of that time, if I got in a few rounds per year... I was happy. In late 2013, I moved from New Jersey to South Carolina for work. This obviously meant more golf for me since the season was pretty much year-round. In 2015, I joined a group that plays about twice a month at different courses... and then in late 2016, we joined a local club.

The group that plays twice a month will usually play on a Saturday. At the club, I'll play primarily during the week since I have a pretty flexible schedule. This leaves most of my weekends open to spend with my family.

A few weeks ago, I had to go away for a week for work. I got home late on a Sunday evening, so... that weekend, I had spent away. The following weekend, I had a few buddies ask me if we could get out and play a round at my club. I asked my wife if there were any plans, and when she said no... I asked if she was okay with me getting out for a few hours to play that day. She said she didn't mind... so, I agreed. I was home about 45 minutes later than I had initially told her I would be (cart path only that day slowed things down a bit). When I got home... there seemed to be no issues.

3 days later, I was talking to her about the upcoming season and she kinda blew up on me. This was all new because she's my biggest supporter in playing golf. She asks me about it following my rounds and she even helps me to set up our year-end trip where we rent a house with a group of other families for a long weekend. This day, however, she really let me have it.