How do warranties usually work for broken shafts?

lazychicken

Reaction score
Handicap
Back in May I stepped up to a tee box, leaned over to put my tee in the ground, and heard a crunching noise from the driver in my other hand. I wasn't leaning on it, just had my hand on it to keep it upright with the club head on the ground, like we've all done a million times. The crunching noise was the shaft breaking right above the hosel. It just gave up.

After that round I walked into the pro shop and mentioned it to the guys there. They all said Mizuno's warranty is great and they'll replace the shaft no problem. I've never tried to use a club warranty before so it sounded odd to me that they would replace a broken shaft, but the pro shop guys said this happens all the time.

The club is a 2016 Mizuno JPX-EZ that I bought online from Rock Bottom Golf back in 2017 (both Rock Bottom and Mizuno confirmed that Rock Bottom is an authorized Mizuno retailer). So I went home and looked up the receipt from the purchase, and sure enough I was about 2-3 weeks away from the 1 year anniversary of buying the club, so I was still within the 1 year warranty. I called Mizuno the next day and the person said yes, they warranty this kind of thing, but she acted like it was unusual for me to send it in for repair as a consumer. She said they normally only deal with retailers with whom they have accounts. And she said it didn't matter if the retailer who sent it back to them was the same place I bought it. I told her I bought it online and confirmed that I could send it back through my home club pro shop. No problem.

I took it into the pro shop the next day and they promptly sent it back to Mizuno. I showed the pro shop guys my receipt from Rock Bottom with the date of purchase so they could confirm I was within my 1 year warranty period. And again, they said Mizuno is the easiest company in the world for things like this, so that was reassuring.