Fitting a Beginner?

8livesleft

Reaction score
Handicap
Hey guys,

I'm a beginner. As in, I'm still working on getting my left arm straight on impact haha!

Anyway, I'm out of town and there are a lot of golf shops here and some do fitting. My set is mostly 2nd hand and except my irons but they're 2009-2010 callaway x22 tours. My friend suggested I invest in a driver, and I was planning on getting a nice used one here (I have a Titleist 910 d2).

Since they have fitting, is it a good idea to get fitted on a driver at my level or should I wait till I'm more advanced?

Thanks in advance!

Sent from my LG-H860 using Tapatalk

A fitting isn’t going to hurt, the only concern is that your swing might change some as you improve.

I got fitted as a beginner and was happy that I did. I played with that set until I out grew them. At that time I got refitted again for a new set. I would do it all over again the same way.

Get fit. Better to play clubs that work for your swing instead of making your swing try to make the club work then having to do that again on your next set and so on. Make golf as easy as possible

It won’t fix your swing but a good fitting should help provide better results for the swing you have currently if you’re honest with your feedback to the fitter’s questions.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

No reason not to. Things will change as you progress but you will have what is right for your swing currently.

One fitting variable that may remain the same as you improve will be the shaft weight. Getting fit will help you identify the shaft weight that feels and works best and weight is one of the most important factors in shaft fitting.

I got fit for clubs when I restarted golf again essentially as a beginner. It won't hurt your game any. The biggest issue I saw was that after about 18 months of playing I improved dramatically and what suited me and my swing changed a bunch. Just an excuse to get refit and get more gear!