Last night's putting lesson

millsan1

I've figured this game out! Oh wait, no I haven't
Reaction score
Handicap
14?
I am new to the game and learning as I go. I have had about 10 lessons so far this year and I practice or play almost every day. I also voraciously consume tips from players, youtube, this forum and others, etc.

Up until last night, I had not taken a putting lesson. I had been putting OK, but had to replace my putter two weeks ago. Since then, all my putts are horribly short. I know it is just a question of getting used to the new putter, but I also wanted to have a lesson to make sure my mechanics are OK.

In store lesson, so on the artificial turf. I explain to my pro what has been happening.

He drops a ball about 10 foot from the cup and says "putt that"

Center of the hole.

Drops another.

Center of the hole.

Drops another.

Center of the hole.

He then asks "how far away is that hole over there? (the hole at the other end of the surface)"
I say "34 feet" It was 35.

He tells me to try and sink one in that hole.
I promptly lag 3 to withing a foot or so.

On the fourth, I finally made the error that had been hurting me. I turned up to look before finishing the stroke. Ball went half the distance.

He then explained to me that the looking up changed my angle and speed of impact and why that hurts distance.

He said my grip, setup and stroke are all fine.

Since this was 10 minutes into a 30 minute lesson, we then went over some putting thoughts and ideas.

He asked "Your uphill putts are short and your downhill putts are long, right?"

Yep.

He explained that when the hole is uphill, it looks closer and when downhill it looks further away. Since your eyes, the ball and the cup form a triangle, that made complete sense. It is elementary, but I had never thought of it before. He also walked me through getting used to striding the distance, getting used to feel, etc.

Great lesson, which I will be putting into practice ASAP.