The difference between a 90 and a 100 is 3

millsan1

I've figured this game out! Oh wait, no I haven't
Reaction score
Handicap
14?
I cannot speak to teh better levels of golf (sub 90 to par) as I have no experience (yet) in that range.

But in alayzig my good (low 90s) rounds to my bad (low 100s) rounds, i believe I came across a revalation.

The difference between the two extremes is not 10 strokes, it is really 3 or 4 strokes.

Allow me to explain. If one makes 3 bad strokes in a round, then those three are gone. Most likely, you will ahve to make the same number of strokes just to make up the missed strokes, so those 3 are now 6. At my level, it is safe to assume that 1 is an OOB situation and 1 is an around the green situation. OOB = 1 more stroke and around the green can turn a par into a double bogey pretty easily. That puts us right at 9 or 10, assuming nothing compounds.

So in reality, at the level I play, I do not need to make up 10 strokes to break that 90 barrier. I really only need to eliminate 3 or 4 bad strokes.

This gives me hope.

Anyoen agree or disagree with my thought process?

No your not far off at all. OOB holes are usually blow up holes for mid to high Hdcp'ers. I think something else to look at too is improving your play on Par 3's. We had a discussion about this in the breaking 90 thread. Keeping your overall strokes as close to Par as possible will get you below 90.

So for example I had a round recently I was +2 on Par fives (one bird, a double, a bogey and a Par) and I was +8 on Par 3's. I shot a 94. Let's say I have 2 pars and 2 bogeys instead (a reasonable feat), now I am at a 88. Now overall I was happy with the 94 considering my shenanigans on the Par 3's, but when I played the Par 5's the way I did (more chances on a Par 5 to make a bad shot) and recounting my scorecard I knew I had really messed up a good round. 22 strokes for Par 5s and 20 strokes for the Par 3s.

Just food for thought.