hackernation

One shot at a time
Reaction score
Handicap
Has anyone shorten their irons and do you notice any distance lost?

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

I have not, I do shorten my driver down to 43 1/2 or 44. But I think the shorter length is negated out by hitting center more often. I would think it would be the same for irons.

I have shorter Driver and Shorter irons - all by 1/2" and I actually feel like I'm more accurate.

I play mine 1/2 inch short and see no difference in performance

Better accuracy though

When you guys say "shorter" what are you referring to them being shorter than? Please don't say "standard" because there really isn't one.

I play a 38" 5i/5h. When I started playing that was "1/2 inch over standard". At some point, I think 38" became "standard". Now, I see quite a few companies using 35.75" as standard. It's mind boggling.

For me, I've always like a heavy swingweight. I aim for D4 in my irons and D5-D6 in my wedges. That's a little lower now with the GP Align grips because I think they're heavier than my old grips, but I know I can't drop weight or I'll never be able to get a decent swingweight without loading up 10" of lead powder in the shaft. Ok, maybe not 10", but it'd be a large amount.

I play my irons based on a 37” 7i which is usually -1/4 to -1/2” shorter than stock. I once shortened my g25 irons -1 1/2” and I indeed lost about a club distance.

My last fitting they took 1/2" off my irons and woods, no loss of distance, actually gained some. Also my consistency improved. But I was replacing 15 year old Ping ISI irons which I was fitted for when I was 15 with new iE1's. So perhaps some/most of that was more the new technology.