Understanding Club Design

8livesleft

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi guys,

I'm a beginner golfer but I'm an old tennis player.

In tennis, I use "Tour" level rackets. The same that Pete Sampras and Roger Federer used. It's on the heavy side, slim profile, smaller head - all making it unforgiving. I need to hit the ball near perfect to get a good shot.

On the opposite end are "beginner or senior" rackets which are very light, huge heads, thick profile. These rackets don't require a perfect swing.

For golf, I don't really know what makes something more or less forgiving. All I know is that I should swap my long irons for hybrids. That's it.

So my question is, what specifically makes clubs more forgiving?

Thanks!

P.s.

I use Callaway X22 Tour irons with stiff shafts from 2010-2011.

Sent from my LG-H860 using Tapatalk

A number of things.
Could be as simple as mass. Could be as complex as material and weight distribution.
Sole size, perimeter weighting, materials, actual mass, weight location, MOI (on a smaller scale) and a lot more.

Hi guys,

I'm a beginner golfer but I'm an old tennis player.

In tennis, I use "Tour" level rackets. The same that Pete Sampras and Roger Federer used. It's on the heavy side, slim profile, smaller head - all making it unforgiving. I need to hit the ball near perfect to get a good shot.

On the opposite end are "beginner or senior" rackets which are very light, huge heads, thick profile. These rackets don't require a perfect swing.

For golf, I don't really know what makes something more or less forgiving. All I know is that I should swap my long irons for hybrids. That's it.

So my question is, what specifically makes clubs more forgiving?

Thanks!

P.s.

I use Callaway X22 Tour irons with stiff shafts from 2010-2011.