Golf: Bridging the Generations Gap

Sean

Earthbound Extraterrestrial
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
I don't know about some of you folks, but I find golf bridges not only generation gaps, but generations gaps as well. One of my regular playing partners is a young man of 23. We are only separated by 40 years. In most anything else in life you normally wouldn't find two people with that kind of age difference hanging out together, but with golf we can and we do. Out on the course there is no age difference, our bond is this great game. We have a great time every time we tee it up.

On another note, this is one talented young fellow. In only his third year playing, and self-taught at that, he consistently shoots in the mid-70s. I have yet to see him post a score in the 80s. What's also impressive is how far he can hit a golf ball. His ball speed with a driver is in the high-180's.

In any case, one of the things you have to love about this game is how it brings people together; age, race, sex, or whatever doesn't really matter. Golf transcends a lot of the BS we see in society today.

I agree wholeheartedly with the OP. Back when I was in college and in my late teens, I played with a gentleman who was 83 years old who could shoot his age! His nickname was "Jigs," and in his prime he was a heckuva golfer. We enjoyed playing together, and he always made sure we had some kind of wager, even if it was a soda at the end of the round.

That's great Sean and i hear you loud and clear. There is just something about golf (maybe because we all know how hard it is?) that facilitates stories like yours.

I usually play as a single during the week so I get paired up with all kinds of people. The story of the 23 year old reminds me of a time when I played with a sophomore in high school. I think he shot upper 70’s on a tough course and says he did so regularly. I was astonished when he said he was not on the golf team.