How do you internalize a swing?

Trevor68

Reaction score
Handicap
I have always heard folks say that once you step into the course you should not think about the swing and just play. I love that statement. Unfortunately, if I attempt to do that, then we are talking about a good 6 hour round where I will be spending 50% of that time in the woods looking for my ball.
Let me begin by saying that I started playing golf when I turned 30, 6 years ago. To this day, the gold swing is a highly unnatural act for me. Nothing about it makes sense and no amount of practice makes it feel natural. I literally have to think about 4 things when I swing my club in order to hit it somehow straight. The moment I just let go and swing naturally, it becomes over the top city and we are either talking straight pulls to the left or hard slices.
I have spent countless hours practicing and I can hit it straight after doing so, but it never becomes a internalized movement that requires no thinking. Has anyone, not physically gifted, been able to internalize a swing to the point they don't think about it and make beautiful straight shots time after time? If so, please let me know how!

Golf is hard!!! I think we all have to work and think about things when we are playing, but after awhile your swing will come naturally, have you thought about lessons?

Need to swing naturally. There are a few small things you can do to help with the slice and OTT.
I was the same way. Now, even though better in some aspects, have paralysis by over-analysis when standing over the ball.
One swing you're hitting it great and then out the window for no good obvious reason.
Golf is hard.

I've talked to a few instructors about this. Their recommendation was to concentrate on the tempo of your swing, either by mentally counting or imagining something musical and swing to the tempo of a song. Keep your eye on the ball and don't think about club positions while doing this.

You need a task.