Drills or Practice Games for Wedges

DucatiGirl

Stoked for RWC2019
Reaction score
Handicap
My Height
Hi everyone, it's your resident noob here! As I'm getting ready to head off to the chip n' putt to practice, what are some good pitching and chipping drills to try?

Here's what I currently do - our pitching green is elevated, so I try to circle the green and go from all different lies. I chip over the sand bunker, and in between the bunker and the green. I try to vary the distance too, and find the rough. I sometimes step on the ball a little if I can't find high grass. One of the pitching greens has a downhill slope, so I practice on it too. I try to aim for each flag as well.

I usually take 6-9 of my own balls, and practice with those, hitting the same amount from vaguely the same spot (I kind of throw them out and play as they lie) - if others are there, I just use range balls. This rarely happens, so I'm usually on my own.

So what are your favorite drills or games to try while chipping? I'm not good enough to do the hula hoop thing yet!

I basically do the same as you. The chipping green at my club has big bunker on one side with a pin right behind it. I position myself with the bunker between me and the pin to practice over the bunker. I alternate shots to other pins that do not require over the bunker shots from the same spot to help me get the feel of different shots.

Over the bunker shots on the course used to scare the crap out of me but not anymore.

I basically do the same as you. The chipping green at my club has big bunker on one side with a pin right behind it. I position myself with the bunker between me and the pin to practice over the bunker. I alternate shots to other pins that do not require over the bunker shots from the same spot to help me get the feel of different shots.

Over the bunker shots on the course used to scare the crap out of me but not anymore.