Jumbo Grips for Regular Sized hands

Reaction score
Handicap
I just started playing golf again after a good 15 year break with maybe 6 rounds. I'm struggling with some hand pain- specifically in my fingers- most noticeably in my left pink (I golf right handed) it now feels very stiff and when I make a fist and release it almost feels like its locking up. I am an avid guitarist and stringed instrument player and I've never really had pain in my hands until golfing.

I dont have big hands- maybe even on the smaller side- I wear a size Med. Large cadet in callaway gloves (that size is too long in the fingers in footjoy) But medium is definitely too small. When picking up different used clubs at the golf store I've noticed how much I like larger grips. They just feel so much more comfortable in my hand- like I can use much less pressure and like I'll have more control by not being able to manipulate the club face as much by twisting my wrists.

When I first started playing again I was gripping the club a lot more in my palm. at this point I was hitting my irons a lot better than I am now after changing my grip to be more in my fingers (my driver has gotten a lot better but that may be more to do with my body movement than grip)

I put a midsized grip on my hybrid that needed replacement- and it barely feels different. (Golf pride tour velvet align- which I love the align thing)
I picked up a club today with a winn jumbo wrap type grip and it felt amazing.

Anyone out there use jumbo grips and dont have jumbo hands? Maybe if I was trying to really maneuver my clubface I could see how this could be detrimental, but I reallly only try to fade around trees in scrambling situations where I can majorly slice it or hook it around a tree right in front of me to get towards the green instead of punching straight out.

thanks for your experience!