Playing over 2 years, still unable to connect with ball

caliheights

Reaction score
Handicap
not sure
Hi there! My first post on this community. Looking for some direction. Anything!

I started playing golf when I was around 16 years old, took a lesson, and then quit after maybe a year. I was in highschool and playing basketball, and was actually pretty darn good at that sport so golf didn't interest me and was too frustrating. FAST FORWARD! I am now 39 years old and picking up the sport of golf again. I love everything about it now! I love the tech, the courses, getting up early and being out on the course, playing with friends and family, etc etc...

I have been "playing" for about 2 years now, and have taken 2 lessons from pga pros. I am a lefty (if it matters) and just purchased some new clubs and have all the new gear. My problems is... i'm terrible. I go to the driving range about twice per week and play around 2x per month. The best I ever shot was 105. I usually shoot 120+.

My main problem is making contact with the ball. I absolutely cannot hit anything lower than an 8 iron. I hit my driver "ok" but it goes way right to far left each time. I cannot hit a 3 wood, ever. What's so frustrating is that I'm a pretty athletic. I'm 6'2" and have a slim/muscular build, and actually "look" like a golfer! It's too funny.

I guess, I just never developed the "feel" of my swing, and the how to judge where the ground is, or the "bottom" of my swing. It's literally a crap shoot each time! After 2 years! I've gone from baseball grip/10 finger to overlapping grip etc. The one thing the last pro I worked with said is - My grip looks great and my backswing is great, its my setup and downswing where everything falls apart. That I'm "throwing" my arms/hands at the ball.