Carrying a 3 and 4 hybrid

B6NHM

Reaction score
Handicap
Hi all. I currently have a m2 4 hybrid which I absolutely love! I’m currently carry a 3 wood too but I struggle to hit it and if I’m honest when I do hit it I hit it about the same distance as my hybrid, so I am thinking of dropping the wood for another hybrid. I’m fairly new to golf so I’m not a big hitter with a fairly slow swing speed. Do people carry 3 and 4 hybrids, or is that not a big enough gap between clubs? I have looked into a 2 hybrid but I’m not sure if they are easy to hit with the smaller heads or if they are very forgiving. People opinions and experience on this would be much appreciated.

Most people would say that once you go lower lofted than 21 or so degrees in a hybrid, most people with a slower swing speed can elevate a fairway wood more easily than a hybrid. You probably are experiencing the same issue with your 3 wood, i.e., generating enough speed to elevate a lower lofted wood. Everybody’s swing is different, but I would probably suggest going to a 5 wood or even something like Callaway’s Heavenwood, which many here have in their bags and love. The heavenwood is a 7 wood loft, but a bigger head and a shaft the same length as a 4 wood. It is a very easy club to elevate and very forgiving.

Most people would say that once you go lower lofted than 21 or so degrees in a hybrid, most people with a slower swing speed can elevate a fairway wood more easily than a hybrid. You probably are experiencing the same issue with your 3 wood, i.e., generating enough speed to elevate a lower lofted wood. Everybody’s swing is different, but I would probably suggest going to a 5 wood or even something like Callaway’s Heavenwood, which many here have in their bags and love. The heavenwood is a 7 wood loft, but a bigger head and a shaft the same length as a 4 wood. It is a very easy club to elevate and very forgiving.
Thanks for the reply. I will look into the heavenwood

Carrying a 3 and 4 hybrid