Is having a job that is your passion a pipe dream?

mr.hicksta

Golf->Tacos->Gainz
Reaction score
I've been doing this Navy thing for just about 19 years now, and during that time I have seen and done plenty of cool stuff. While I'm proud of my service, it has never been something I'm truly passionate about. I should also mention that I'm incredibly grateful to have a job that's relatively secure because I know there are many that don't enjoy the same job security I do. With all that said though, I often wonder if having passion for one's job is a more of a product of a point of view or the work that is being done. One basis for comparison is my wife, who, as some of you know, is a professional photographer. There are definitely days when she doesn't enjoy certain things about running her own business, but that's to be expected and overall she is very passionate about what she does. I feel like that's what I'm missing, and I'm curious to hear what other THPers think!

I've been doing this Navy thing for just about 19 years now, and during that time I have seen and done plenty of cool stuff. While I'm proud of my service, it has never been something I'm truly passionate about. I should also mention that I'm incredibly grateful to have a job that's relatively secure because I know there are many that don't enjoy the same job security I do. With all that said though, I often wonder if having passion for one's job is a more of a product of a point of view or the work that is being done. One basis for comparison is my wife, who, as some of you know, is a professional photographer. There are definitely days when she doesn't enjoy certain things about running her own business, but that's to be expected and overall she is very passionate about what she does. I feel like that's what I'm missing, and I'm curious to hear what other THPers think!