Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Rules Pondering Question

  1. #1
    Club Pro KY Golfer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    Louisville, KY
    Posts
    291
    Member
    21072
    Handicap
    Bourbon
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    206
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    143
    Thanked in
    79 Posts

    Rules Pondering Question

    So I'm watching the Players, and Bryson is on the 17th tee, with club in hand, figuring out all his metrics with his caddie.

    The camera is showing the group on the tee from behind the green and Bubba walks over to Bryson's bag to see what club is missing and walk back to his bag.

    This made me think, What is really the difference in asking Bryson what club he's using other than saying "What club you got"?

    My question is not one of "Is Bubba cheating", because I know he isn't. My question is "Why is that any different then asking"?

    Just another instance where some of the rules are questionable.
    TBD at the 2019 Titleist Ultimate Metal Woods & Golf Ball Testing
    TBD at the 2019 Titleist Ultimate Metal Woods & Golf Ball Testing
    816 H1 Hybrid 18° & 22°
    JPX 900 Irons 5-PW
    Vokey SM6 Wedge 50° & 56°
    EVNROLL ER5B
    TBD at the 2019 Titleist Ultimate Metal Woods & Golf Ball Testing


  2. #2
    My Name Is Fritters
    MWard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Cow Pasture, FL
    Posts
    33,434
    Member
    3474
    Handicap
    6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    19,703
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    20,589
    Thanked in
    8,639 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KY Golfer View Post
    So I'm watching the Players, and Bryson is on the 17th tee, with club in hand, figuring out all his metrics with his caddie.

    The camera is showing the group on the tee from behind the green and Bubba walks over to Bryson's bag to see what club is missing and walk back to his bag.

    This made me think, What is really the difference in asking Bryson what club he's using other than saying "What club you got"?

    My question is not one of "Is Bubba cheating", because I know he isn't. My question is "Why is that any different then asking"?

    Just another instance where some of the rules are questionable.
    You learn the same info, so there’s no real difference. One requires you to look though vs them sharing the info with you. It’s kind of a stupid loophole.
    Spoiler

    Callaway Epic Sub Zero 9 degrees
    Callaway Epic Sub Zero 3w
    Callaway Epic 7w
    Taylormade SLDRs 25 degree hybrid
    Callaway Apex CF16 5-pw
    Cleveland RTX 3.0 Wedge 50-54-58
    Toulon Design San Diego 34in

  3. #3
    I fluff my gimmies. Shaman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    5,033
    Member
    25285
    Handicap
    Who cares?
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    3,676
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    3,237
    Thanked in
    2,051 Posts
    Another rule of questionable reasoning. What does it matter? Does the question REALLY give a competitive advantage? As an example, if Zach Johnson walked up to Brooks Koepka and asked him what club he was using, what advantage would be gained by ZJ? He simply can't hit it as far as BK.
    Cobra F6 driver head on a 3-wood shaft
    Titleist 909 17* hybrid
    Cobra 4-hybrid
    Big Bertha 6-hybrid
    Ping G20 4-SW
    Odyssey Rossie 2 (circa 1994)
    Ogio Shredder bag
    A ball

    "Always remember, there are no bad rounds, just high scores."-ChristopherKee

  4. #4
    Sultan of Santa Monica

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    The City of Our Lady the Queen of the Angels
    Posts
    4,276
    Member
    20069
    Handicap
    a toddler
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    473
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2,771
    Thanked in
    1,275 Posts
    I agree. Just another rule that needs to go away. Changing rules doesn't simplify. Eliminating confusing rules does.
    ~Peter

  5. #5
    Tour Pro darthweasel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Beaverton
    Posts
    750
    Member
    32906
    Handicap
    16.8
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    865
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    420
    Thanked in
    257 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Shaman View Post
    Another rule of questionable reasoning. What does it matter? Does the question REALLY give a competitive advantage? As an example, if Zach Johnson walked up to Brooks Koepka and asked him what club he was using, what advantage would be gained by ZJ? He simply can't hit it as far as BK.
    when healthy, I hit my 8i 160 and my 7i 175. My playing partner, on a good drive, gets 180 out of it with his driver. It always makes me laugh when he asks what I am using. We pull up to a par 3 over water, 180. I am going to club up 1 and play my 6 and he is like, "what club you using?" not the same one you are...you best be using your driver, not that 8 you have in your hand...

  6. #6
    Major Champion JayB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Philly Burbs
    Posts
    1,726
    Member
    41407
    Handicap
    10.5
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    889
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    751
    Thanked in
    487 Posts
    While it is a dumb rule, eliminating it can quickly turn from “what club are you using?” Into “was the bunker lie soft and fluffy?”

    It is a slippery slope to allow advice conversation.
    Driver: Rogue at 11.5* w/ Fubuki V60S
    3W: R15 HL S-Flex
    3H:
    2017 M1 19deg S-Flex
    4-PW:
    MP-59 dynamic gold S300
    Wedges: Vokey SM5 50F/60K,
    S5 56
    Putter: Vault Oslo with superstroke GTR 2.0
    Ball Pro V1x
    Bag:
    Flextech carry bag


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •