Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Free Relief?

  1. #1
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    55
    Member
    49818
    Handicap
    36
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    27
    Thanked in
    18 Posts

    Free Relief?

    My son texted me this picture, asking if he gets free relief.
    That is a cart path.
    Obviously, it would depend on whether he's hitting the ball Left or Right (as denoted on the picture)
    I say if he's hitting to the Right, he gets relief, and if my memory serves, the ball placement should be where he can hit it while STANDING off the cart path.
    However, if he's hitting to the left, does the damaged ground where the ball lies, fall under "ground under repair" and allow for relief?
    If that were grass where the ball lies, and he were hitting Left, I'd say no relief.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  2. #2
    SFT c0ncept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Bothell, WA, United States
    Posts
    8,296
    Member
    7284
    Handicap
    10
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    1,678
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    1,776
    Thanked in
    1,088 Posts
    I believe you get relief from the cart path regardless but with the new damage ground rule I still think it is a yes.
    Driver: XHot 10.5
    Fairways: CG Black 16
    Irons: Razr X Forged 5-9
    Wedges: Copper Forged 48, 52, 56, 60
    Putter: Custom made B1
    See it. Feel it. Trust it.

  3. #3
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    55
    Member
    49818
    Handicap
    36
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    27
    Thanked in
    18 Posts
    Not until later last evening, my son advised me of the direction that he had to hit the ball, as depicted in the below picture.
    This IMO is definitely free relief, due to the high probability of striking the cart path with his club.

    But I still would like a rules guru to let me know: using my first picture in the original post, if the intended direction were Left, and there is no chance of striking the cart path with the club, does the condition of the ground allow relief?

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    Major Champion DataDude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Keeennnntuckeeee!!
    Posts
    1,435
    Member
    47057
    Handicap
    20ish
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    612
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    785
    Thanked in
    455 Posts
    I think if you're within a club length of the cart path you always get relief.
    Epic Flash 10.5* EvenFlow Black 65g Stiff
    Steelhead XR 3 & Heaven Wood Tensei Blue 65g Stiff
    JPX919 Hot Metal 4-PW Nippon Modus 3 Tour 105 R
    718 CB PW Dynamic Gold S400
    Vokey SM7 54.08 M Dynamic Gold Wedge
    Hi Toe 60 KBS Wedge 2.0
    Karsten TR B60

  5. #5
    Major Champion JayB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Philly Burbs
    Posts
    1,726
    Member
    41407
    Handicap
    10.5
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    889
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    751
    Thanked in
    487 Posts
    Great one. I’m in to hear the answer.... and if it isn’t relief, then my goodness....
    Driver: Rogue at 11.5* w/ Fubuki V60S
    3W: R15 HL S-Flex
    3H:
    2017 M1 19deg S-Flex
    4-PW:
    MP-59 dynamic gold S300
    Wedges: Vokey SM5 50F/60K,
    S5 56
    Putter: Vault Oslo with superstroke GTR 2.0
    Ball Pro V1x
    Bag:
    Flextech carry bag


  6. #6
    "Just playin golf pally" rollin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    planet earth, milky way galaxy
    Posts
    9,377
    Member
    13239
    Handicap
    14.6
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    2,068
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    2,435
    Thanked in
    1,790 Posts
    if the cart path would interfere with ones stance or swing then I believe its relievable even though the ball is not specifically on it. But this (due to the tire rut) imo would also have to be ground under repair as well. Either way I think relief is correct.
    I golf because I can But I stink because I can't

  7. #7
    Tour Pro Richard Rodgers's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    976
    Member
    6159
    Handicap
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    118
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    176
    Thanked in
    78 Posts
    Three things are at play here. Cart path, ground under repair and tyre ruts.

    With tyre ruts, you will only get relief if they are subject to a local rule stating that relief is possible from any tyre damage through the course or on specific parts of the course, but it has to be obvious that it is tyre damage. The damage shown is definitely tyre damage, so you are relying on a local rule if playing to the LEFT.

    GUR is obviously a relief situation, but any GUR area has to be marked showing the full area covered by the GUR. In the photo no such markings are visible so you would not be able to claim GUR relief. No player can claim an area is deemed GUR without any markings.

    With the cart path, again be careful as some roads and paths on a golf course are 'Integral part of the course' and free relief is not possible. Check the local rulles on the card or in clubhouse.

    However, it is more likely than not that a cart path will be covered within the free relief remit. If said cart path interferes with Stance, Ball or Swing you would be entitled to relief. From the stated direction of play I would definitely say that relief would be possible, as unless your lad only has one leg, one of his feet will almost certainly be on the path, but also the proximity of the ball to the path means that the club would certainly strike the path on the follow through and so relief is possible.

    Driver:
    M1 Rogue Silver 125 70
    Fairway Wood: RBZ Stage 2 14.5 with ATX Tour Blue
    Hybrids: UDI 3 cranked to 18 degrees
    Irons: TP Tour MB with NS Pro Modus 3 125 Prototype
    Wedges: Vokey 52, Cleveland 56 RTX2
    Putter: FGP
    Ball: B-330S


    : @stourport_photo

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to Richard Rodgers For This Useful Post:

    mdowney58 (03-16-2019)

  9. #8
    Beginner
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Posts
    55
    Member
    49818
    Handicap
    36
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    54
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    27
    Thanked in
    18 Posts
    Thanks for all the input.
    The rule for Abnormal Course Conditions doesn't appear to apply either, as it appears to only include
    Animal Holes,
    Ground Under Repair,
    Immovable obstructions, &
    Temporary water.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

  10. The Following User Says Thank You to mdowney58 For This Useful Post:

    dhartmann34 (03-16-2019)

  11. #9
    Major Champion
    dhartmann34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Vooooolo, IL
    Posts
    14,102
    Member
    19418
    Handicap
    2.7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9,966
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9,836
    Thanked in
    5,075 Posts
    Unless it's marked as GUR or there's a local role, as stated previously, he's not getting relief from the rut using those normal rules.

    Being that he was heading across the path, I'm guessing his foot will be on the path so he'd certainly get relief in that aspect.

    He could also get relief if his swing is interfered with the cart path on the follow through.

    If he found that tire rut anywhere else on the course, he wouldn't get relief... unless marked as GUR.

    Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
    Hoofer on a3.5
    Driver:
    G400 (8*) (Diamana Kai'li 60X)
    Fw Woods/Hybrids:
    G400 3 wood (Diamana Kai'li 60X) and 19* Crossover
    Irons/Wedges:
    AP3 (4/5) AP2 (6-PW)/ (50, 54 & 60)...all w/ DG 120 Tour Issued S400's
    Putter:
    Pro Platinum Newport 2
    Ball: Kirkland Ksig
    Twitter - Dhartmann34

  12. The Following User Says Thank You to dhartmann34 For This Useful Post:

    mdowney58 (03-17-2019)

  13. #10
    Major Champion
    dhartmann34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Vooooolo, IL
    Posts
    14,102
    Member
    19418
    Handicap
    2.7
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    9,966
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    9,836
    Thanked in
    5,075 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mdowney58 View Post
    Thanks for all the input.
    The rule for Abnormal Course Conditions doesn't appear to apply either, as it appears to only include
    Animal Holes,
    Ground Under Repair,
    Immovable obstructions, &
    Temporary water.

    Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
    Yeah the GUR is always fuzzy since it needs to be marked.... Although many courses are not as on top of that as we would like.

    Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
    Hoofer on a3.5
    Driver:
    G400 (8*) (Diamana Kai'li 60X)
    Fw Woods/Hybrids:
    G400 3 wood (Diamana Kai'li 60X) and 19* Crossover
    Irons/Wedges:
    AP3 (4/5) AP2 (6-PW)/ (50, 54 & 60)...all w/ DG 120 Tour Issued S400's
    Putter:
    Pro Platinum Newport 2
    Ball: Kirkland Ksig
    Twitter - Dhartmann34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •