Help me analyze these #s please, iron edition

Alan4014

Reaction score
Handicap
A local golf shop has a simulator that you can pay to use so I thought I would go capture some data on my current clubs. Only problem is I'm not real sure what they should be. My observation is I generally hit my irons higher than most of the people I play with. I've been gaming g25 irons w stiff cfs shafts for four or five years now. Before them I had i20 irons with the same shafts. I would say I hit the g25s slightly higher, and straighter but they have less "action" on the greens, presumably from less spin as you would expect from a game improvement iron vs a players iron. Also, even though I hit them "high" I don't have any issues w ballooning, again I think an indication of "lower" spin.
On to the numbers. Not sure what software the simulator had, but I will admit these distance numbers look "jacked" to me. I don't hit my irons this far on the course. Which makes me wonder how accurate these numbers really are, but hey, they are better than nothing. A callaway chrome + golf ball was used, which is an older model ball, but I had a few in my bag and played 18 with them yesterday so I wanted to use them so I could compare the numbers to what I saw yesterday on the course.

7i
176 carry
186 total
83 club speed
113 ball speed
13.5 launch
4479 spin
23 yds high

9i
163 carry
169 total
81 club speed
106 ball speed
18.2 launch
4918 spin
28 yds high

W
153 carry
160 total
78 club speed
101 ball speed
19.2 launch
5118 spin
25 yds high

fwiw, I would say a stock wedge is my 115-120 club, 9i is 125-130 and 7i is 155 club. All numbers above are averages of 5-10 shots with each club, with obvious miss hits thrown out. Also my irons don't run out that far on the green, W and 9i are typically no more than a step or two from the pitch mark. And finally, unfortunately decent angle wasn't measured so I don't have that data.

So, please share your thoughts on the numbers above.