Nippon Shafts

Thread: Most Mind Blowing Custom Fit Experience?

Handicap
    2.5 GHIN
    Thanks Thanks Given 
    Thanks Thanks Received 
    Thanked in
    4 Posts

Most Mind Blowing Custom Fit Experience?

So I don't post a lot on here, but working as an assistant pro full-time...I'm on here reading what you guys are posting all the time! Love knowing I am FAR from alone in my level of golf addiction and geekiness.

This past week, I went down to Penn Oaks for a Titleist Thursday fitting. I've been gaming S55's for around 4 years now and was about a 10 handicap when I got them. Having passed my PAT and developed my game, I was looking to progress into more of a player's iron, maybe a combo set, with a shaft I could launch a bit lower. I've had the KBS Tour V 110's and always liked the high flight I had with them, but it's becoming too high and I get a lot of balls that just tail too much on the way down.

Ironically, Mike Parker, who is the Titleist Fitter for Penn Oaks and the Philly Section (?) is a guy I've played some men's league ice hockey with a few times, which was great because I'm always a bit anxious going into a lesson or fitting with someone new. He fit me for length & lie which were 1/2 inch short and 2* flat, 1* flatter than my pings relative to standard. I came into the fitting gaming some old 680s in my PW and 9, so right away we started talking combo set, which was great. When I was fit for my pings, I was definitely not on the same page with the fitter in terms of the type of set we thought would be best. It put my mind at ease right off the bat.