Newbie looking for guidance

mattonthewater

Reaction score
Handicap
Good morning folks,

I am VERY new to the game of golf, other than driving some friends crazy at the driving range. I apparently swing a golf club like a baseball bat and outdrive them pretty easily and typically its a very straight shot. Otherwise I have ZERO golf experience. In my job; sales, I get asked to play quite a lot and make up excuses as to why I can't (really its because I never have and i'm not trying to look like an idiot in front of clients).

Anyways, I am looking for a good set of irons to start with (used is fine and actually preferred) that I can learn and "grow" with. I don't have a super strict budget but if I could be in the irons in the mid 200ish range or so i'd be happy. I've been looking on a few sites like globalgolf and ebay but with so many options, its very daunting for a novice.

If its relevant I am 6' tall, read a few things about club length etc. The local golf shops have been sadly ZERO help other than trying to shill $1000+ iron sets.

Any suggestions for an errant noob?

TLDR: Completely new guy, mid $200ish range for a good starter set of irons that I can play with for years until I get better.

Welcome to THP.

You want as much forgiveness in the irons as you can stand to look at. To use older terminology you are probably looking for Game Improvement clubs. With your preferred budget look for options that are a season or two old. If at all possible try to hit the clubs before buying. Shaft can make a big difference for how the clubs feel...don’t shy away from graphite.

:welcome:

My advice would be to see a pro for a few lessons and get fit for a set of clubs that will work with your swing. It sounds like you have some natural athletic ability which should make picking up more go smoother for you then many. Just my 2 cents worth.