For beginners: spiked vs spikeless shoes

swove

Reaction score
Handicap
Im a beginner and I’m looking to invest in a good pair of golf shoes.

In your opinion as a beginner can you notice a big difference between the two? Why or why not?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

As a newer player who has a pair of each, I don't notice a huge difference between them. I more so notice the comfort of the two pairs of shoes I have, and that one pair is "waterproof" and one is not which leads to much more comfort if there is dew on the course or when walking on a damp day. For me it's my spikeless pair that are "waterproof" and overall I find them more comfortable to wear.

I would recommend just getting a nice comfortable pair and don't worry too much about if they are spiked or spikeless.

The spikeless pair I grabbed near the end of last season are the Puma Grip Fusion spikeless for $90 CAD and I am very please with them especially for the price, fit is as I would expect for an athletic shoe.

In general I can only tell a difference in the worst of worst conditions where a spikeless gets clogged up a little easier

I wear mostly spikeless, but I definitely prefer spiked when it's wet out. Either way, waterproof is a must--for me, at least.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

I wear mostly spikeless and have no issues.

Honestly as long as the spikeless has a big enough spike pattern to it I don't think it would make a difference, comfort/style much more over function in a shoe for sure.

I wear mostly spikeless, but I definitely prefer spiked when it's wet out. Either way, waterproof is a must--for me, at least.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

Agree 100% I have both and decide which to wear depending on the grass conditions. If wet wear spikes.

Addidas Boost shoes are awesome and I love the BOA