luvagoodshot

Reaction score
Handicap
Yes
I keep reading about people delofting their club on shots. I assume they mean they are closing the club face a bit. It makes me wonder. If someone feels they have to deloft their SW then why not just go up a club and use something like a 54 or 52 wedge?

Last edited:
I'm no expert but if you swing an iron with hands forward of the ball during the strike you are de-lofting the club. I think that is what you are referring to. It's the difference between actual loft and dynamic loft!

I keep reading about people delofting their club on shots. I assume they mean they are closing the club face a bit. It makes me wonder. If someone feels they have to delofting their SW then why not just go up a club and use something like a 54 or 52 wedge?

It's not so much closing the club face at address, it's putting forward shaft lean on the club at impact so your 56 degree SW for instance now has the loft of a 52-54 wedge.

It's not so much closing the club face at address, it's putting forward shaft lean on the club at impact so your 56 degree SW for instance now has the loft of a 52-54 wedge.

Dynamic loft comes into play as well.

I'm not correcting you, just adding to your post.

Reason why not go up a club is because you want the loft and the attack angle of a club with shaft lean, takes the bounce out of it and execute a shot in tight lies.

Ditto to what others are saying...

But also add that it's not feeling you have to, it just happens naturally if you're loading and lagging the club correctly. Your hands should be in front of the club head at impact. That's how you generate more distance. So clubbing up would actually cause it to go further up as well.

I keep reading about people delofting their club on shots. I assume they mean they are closing the club face a bit. It makes me wonder. If someone feels they have to delofting their SW then why not just go up a club and use something like a 54 or 52 wedge?