Photon Guy

Reaction score
Handicap
I am looking to get a set of golf clubs by Pro Flite. Somebody said in another folder that they are of low quality but I am not a professional golfer and in fact I don't have any experience with golf whatsoever other than miniature golf and hitting balls at a golf driving range. Dick's Sporting Goods sells the set for $150 and that's a sale price so Im wondering if it would be a good investment. As I said I am not seriously into golf I am just starting out. Also, with Dick's Sporting Goods in general, they seem to have quite a big golf department. Anybody have experience with them? Is Dick's a good place to go for golf equipment?

You're probably talking about me saying they were low quality.

As a beginner, you'd probably think they were great. And that's not a problem. The problem comes a year down the road when you've started to get good and trying to shape shots and understand the feel of the clubs. At that point you'll want to upgrade. So, is it better to spend $150 now and then spend double that upgrading, or spend the $300 now to build a set with Adams Blue clubs that'll last you 3 years?

If you're familiar with motorcycles, it's like the 250 vs 650 bike for a newbie. The 250 works and runs and the new guy is going to have fun with it, for all of one season, then it's time to upgrade.

Me, I'd rather spend the money now

If you're familiar with motorcycles, it's like the 250 vs 650 bike for a newbie. The 250 works and runs and the new guy is going to have fun with it, for all of one season, then it's time to upgrade.

I agree with the club concept. The bike concept is only good if you're a responsible rider. If you swing a high dollar club too hard you may mishit the ball. If you twist your wrist too hard on a 1/2 liter bike, you're laying on your back trying to figure out what happened. :)

I'm assuming you mean Top Flite.