Older new golfers, what made you take up golf?

TruGolfer

Reaction score
[FONT=&quot]For me. I'm in my 40's, just started playing golf 6 months ago for stress relief & exercise (beats expensive therapies). I like to walk the courses with a pushcart and not worry too much about keeping score or hitting the balls far (my best drive is only 190). I took a few pro lessons but am mainly self-taught through watching youtube and tips from other experienced players. None of my friends golf so I play as a single, sometimes joining local meetup groups. One thing I discovered was no matter how well I did at the range I could not hit the balls worth a damn on the course, so I mainly 'practice' on the course now, hitting several balls from the tee and each stop (I also go during off-peak times so as not to hold up other people). This improved my game dramatically. [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]
[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]What about you gen-X'er & baby boomer new golfers? What made you decide to start and what's your approach to the game?[/FONT]

I started when I was in my mid 40's mostly do to becoming a Salesperson and Customers wanted to golf. 58 now and a complete club addict, love to play anytime, anywhere.

I had messed around as a kid because my dad was a pretty good golfer in his day (I only know that from all the trophies he had around) and he used to take me along. That was how I got learned to play right handed clubs, I am severely left handed for most everything else except shooting.

I began this journey 5 years ago when I was 45. I had to give up playing hoops due to natural causes.

I needed something to satisfy my need to compete.

My goal was to “not suck” so I could play with anyone without being embarrassed.

5 years later and I have a serious problem.

You know your screwed because your brain keeps moving the finish line...which means you aren’t satisfied when you break 100, 90 80 and I am sure if I ever beat par I’ll never have the feeling that I am “done.”