TM_Bobby723

Reaction score
Handicap
+
Who all on here works with an Instructor/Teacher on a regular basis? I have a few friends who are PGA Professionals/Instructors and I've had a quick 15 minute lesson here or there to tweak a few things when I was struggling, but nothing on a regular basis.

That being said, I'm basically a self taught feel player and I've never had steady instruction. Today, I scheduled my first session with an instructor with plans of sticking with him on a schedule/regular basis. He came as "the only person I would refer you to" by someone whose opinion I value highly. He also uses BodiTrack, which I hear is awesome and extremely helpful.

I'm really looking forward to it and the whole process. So I'm just curious what kinds of success anyone here has had working with an instructor? Was it awkward at first if you had to change things? How long until you felt comfortable, etc…?

I have been thoroughly happy with my pro choice this year. He adapts the speed and explanations based on my learning preferences, and has had no issue dialing things back if we get going too fast. How long until I felt comfortable? Within the first lesson, really, which is what I'm looking for; lessons can be a pricey investment. I'm not willing to spend 3 or 4 sessions figuring out if it's going to be a solid teacher/student combination.

I wish I did. Can't find the right one here locally, and each time I work with someone it causes months of damage to the swing I've constructed.

Havent really cared for my first few instructors, but found a really good one last year who really made my swing less junky without re-inventing the wheel

I was working with someone on a weekly basis for a while. 30 min at a time just to make sure things we're staying in sync.

The first thing I said when I met him was that I didn't want to make any drastic changes right off the bat. Of course that didn't happen. I do like where it ended up however