Players clubs for high handicapper

Jackal

Reaction score
Handicap
I have always thought that you had to be pro or scratch to play players clubs or blades.
I have always shot 92-96 for 18 holes.
I've been thru 8????? set of irons since I started playing in '94.
Last Summer around June, the local driving range/pro shop had some S59 Ping irons.
I wanted to see if I could hit them.
To my surprise, they felt great and had good distance.
I had some control with these.
The shop owner was reluctant to sell these to me.
He said to play for a week and if I changed my mind he would give me full credit on trade in.
My scores have been dropping ever since.
I've been shooting 38-43 for 9 holes consistently.
Are these irons accidentally fitted for me perfectly?
The old cavity back game - improvement irons just seem too big and bulky.
These look so much better.
I can't work the ball, but I can hit slight fade, or more fade.
Also, I can get a draw about half of the time when I try ( don't trust it though).
Distances are consistent, too.
It is nice to be on the green sometimes on par 3's.
It use to be ( Hit it at the green. Chip up on green. Then putt. )
With these it's possible to hit a green (sometimes) from 175 out with a 5 iron.
I played these long enough for the novelty or honeymoon phase to be over.

I hear of scratch golfers playing game-improvement irons, but never this.
Not saying that I'm good, just puzzled.

When it works, it works dude.

Are you giving up forgiveness? Absolutely.

Are you enjoying yourself though? Seems to be yes and that matters more than anything IMO.

Its a big thing for me, play what you love, love what you play.

Absolutely. I am in the same boat, low 90's players, occasionally in the high 80's. Went and hit some srixons to see which I wanted to buy, and was surprised when I was able to hit the 765's better than the 565's. Sometimes things that look better allow you to make a better swing, golf is mental.

Have Fun..