How many of us play golf because of Arnold "The King" Palmer?

Maddog701

Reaction score
Handicap
14.2 ghin
My grandfather starting teaching me golf at the age of 11 in 1971. Arnold Palmer was his favorite golfer. I don't remember to much of the conversations we had but I do remember my Grandfather telling me he played golf because Arnold Palmer made it look easy on TV, so my Grandfather decided to pick up the game in the early 60's. as a result of this, he taught me the game. So because of Arnold Palmer, I have enjoyed a lifetime of golf.

I wish I could say he WS the reason I started playing. I knew who,he was growing up and more so in my early 20s when I started taking more if an interest in the game. My two biggest influences were Payne Stewart and Tiger.

Flat out, I play golf because of my wife. I became enchanted with golf because of Tiger Woods. I respect that Mr. Palmer built the game so those two people could affect my love of golf.

No, I started when my best friend got a set at a garage sale.

Indirectly I do my father started to play because of Palmer and i started to play because of him

I don't play golf because of Mr. Palmer, because his prime was before I was born. That being said, he WOULD be in my dream foursome, joining myself, Phil and Bobby Jones.

Not me, play because my grandfather introduced me to the game

I bet on golf forums, if someone started because of a professional, it would be Tiger more than anyone else. Just because of the age range.

I bet on golf forums, if someone started because of a professional, it would be Tiger more than anyone else. Just because of the age range.

^^^^ This is me, but Arnie's loss is huge, i feel more sadness today, than I will probably feel for Tiger.

I don't play because of him, but I have looked to him as a man who knew how to handle himself on and off the course with honor and class.

Sent from my SM-N900T using Tapatalk