Where to go from here?

NeverWiff

Reaction score
Handicap
13.4 GHIN
Hi gang... brand spankin' new member here, though a long time lurker..

After a very tough season, due to disc problems, I finished the season playing quite well...for me. Currently a 17 hdcp, but FINALLY broke 80 recently.. a 79.... with 3 double bogies. I'm very inconsistent... obviously - but mainly off the tee (my iron game usually saves the day)

Anyhow, I've been playing Ping G10's since I Started playing again in '07 or '08 after a very long absence. I've been considering new irons the last year or so, but really have no idea what to check out next. I like hitting the Pings, hear the new G series is very nice but am also open to other options... obviously need to get fitted, but didn't know if there were thoughts on where to go from here... love the look of the new Wilson irons as well as the Hogan PTx... Anyhow, thanks for taking the time to read my ramblings... Cheers!

Welcome aboard!

Are you seeing any consistent misses with the G10s? Do you feel like you may be hitting the ball too low or too high? Are you considering steel shaft vs graphite? Do you not like the looks of the irons at address?

There's a lot to consider, but on the good side of things, pretty much every manufacturer will have a few sets of irons that'll work for you. I know that's not very definitive... but the best thing I can say is to bring your 7i to a local shop and hit it up against some newer irons and see if there's any major gains.

Welcome. So many good options on the market both new and a few years old. In Ping the i20s have been my favorite iron and can be had for under $300. The g is a good series but they are larger than I and iirc the g10s too. Wilson and Hogan are great options. My recommendation is find a place to demo them and get fit for what you like and works for you

Welcome to THP

welcome to THP.

Hi gang... brand spankin' new member here, though a long time lurker..