If not golf, what then?

Campbell Toe

AKA Campbell Toe
Albatross 2024 Club
Reaction score
If your passion for golf one day completely left you, what would fill that void?

This has been a question that I have thought of quite often and I personally do not have an answer. Golf is really the only hobby or sports activity that I am currently active in. I used to play men's league basketball in many different cities in my area. I also played in a lot of softball leagues. However, way back in 1999, I ruptured 2 vertebrae in my lower back and just kind of lost interest in both of those sports during the time it took for me to recover. I started playing golf for fun when I was 12. A bunch of my buddies and I thought it would be fun to try it. So we went to the local course and rented some clubs and began playing. I would play off and on until I was about 18. From 18 and on, basketball and softball took all my time. Once I was recovered enough to begin some activity, golf came back into my life and hasn't left. I have had many friends that played, suddenly leave the game, not to come back. I still have a passion to go out usually twice a week to play. Most of my rounds are at the same course I have been playing steadily for the last 6 years. Meeting fellow THPers over the last couple of years has kind of rekindled a fire in my game. However, to answer my own question, I have no clue. I have a wife and 4 kids. My kids are ages 20, 17, 14, and 12. None of them, or my wife care about golf. I guess I would sit in front of the TV and get fat.

Would love to hear your thoughts.

I'd probably dive back into the guitar.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Moar barbells

My passion prior to golf was paintball and then hockey before that. I assume I'd go back to one of those two.

Like you, I don't have any other hobbies. Since there aren't any THPers in my area I'm trying different things (like joining a league) to try and meet more golfers and schedule rounds.