Club Fitting: Iron Length?

RobDMB

Reaction score
Handicap
All:

I've had two independent fittings for irons. I am ready to order (Srixon Z765 w/ Dynamic Gold) but have a question. In one fitting I was fitted for .5" long shafts. In my last fitting, although I hit both, the fitter thought standard was better. My question is - does it make a huge difference. I am 6'1 so not super tall. As long as the lie si correct could most people play either length - I know manufacturers have already increased some club lengths as standard.

Thanks!

- Rob

Last edited:
If you hit both at your last fitting and felt confident in the fitter, I would say run with it.

Its interesting, I've actually had two fittings where I was fitted .5 over (one at Ping Headquarters). However, I get the sense it may not matter a huge way either way. I've been playing standard for the last 15 years (although never fit - off the rack).

I now play 0.5" over although fitters have put me between that and 1.5" over. I came to the 0.5" because I was randomly hitting an Apex Pro with a 0.5" shaft and it just felt right. When I asked the length I was surprised because at the time I was 1.25" over.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I am the same height as you and I always thought I should be playing longer or more upright clubs. I was fitted by some of the best fitters around at the Callaway ECPC and I was fitted into standard clubs. Everyones swing is different though and it can affect what you should be playing. If you are comfortable with standard clubs I wouldn't change. If my memory is correct I believe .5" long will effectively make the lie angle 1° upright.

I'm of the opinion that length doesn't really matter so long as the lie angle is correct for you at whatever length you opt for.