Official Equipment Pondering Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello THP folks. First time poster and glad to have found THP.

I have been playing socially for 15 years and decided to start playing competitive golf earlier this year. I was given some golf shop vouchers and some lessons for my birthday. My current clubs are an old-ish Brosnan set that I bought second-hand from eBay. The driver is metal but it is much smaller than the new breed of drivers. It has a small face and head that is difficult to hit as well as being unforgiving. The irons are reasonable, and I had them fitted earlier this year with new grips. I struggle to hit the longer irons with distance and consistency, but have found the shorter irons to be easier to hit. I normally hit irons off the tee at my course that is short in yardage. I have been thinking of getting 3 new irons with my vouchers then building up a full set as I get the money.

I had my first lesson yesterday and the pro worked on my setup to achieve better consistency and ball flight. He suggested that instead of the irons, I should get a new driver before turning my attention to irons.

For someone who is a 95-106 stroke player, who struggles for direction and consistency and playing on a short course (there are a number of 270-300m par-4's and only one par-5) what would you recommend is my essential purchase? 3 new irons (I'm thinking Taylormade Rocketballz) or a Driver?

Looking forward to the THP wisdom!

Well if you were going to say a new "set" of irons I'd suggest irons. But if your only planning on buying a few irons to mix and mingle through an existing set then that's probably gonna hurt you more than help you. Playing all different weights, lofts, shafts, flexes, swingweights, different turf interaction, different ball flights... etc. between the two sets will mess with you bro.

If I were you, and this is just personal preference, I would wait until I had the money to buy a new iron SET.