Would you Visit a Sports Psychologist?

fupresti

Former Big Deal
Reaction score
Handicap
Marriage
Thinking about tournament preparation, I started thinking about the mental aspect of the game. We take lessons to improve our swing, to be a better putter, so why not consider seeing a professional to help manage the mental side of the game? In the past I battled various personal issues that were addressed with the help of a psychologist, so maybe there is some credibility to managing your mental golf game with the same route of action. Would you consider it? If you have in the past utilized it, did you see results?

As an amateur golfer, I doubt it. When looking at the cost alone, I think it would not be something I would do.

Probably not. As an amateur I wouldn't worry about my performance enough to go that route. But I could see incorporating the mental side of the game into regular lessons. But maybe you were thinking more than course management type stuff when you referred to mental side of the game????

I am thinking about avoiding an anxiety attack or a fit of rage on the course. I would like to better manage those situations while on the course.

if it was free i would. i could use one.

I would not. It's not an area (mental) where I have many issues so I don't see the value add versus the potential cost.

No way...not that hardcore

Nope, not unless talking to my golf instructor about this. A guy at work talked about the mental side of golf and referred me to Harvey Penicks book.

If $$$$$ wasn't an option I would be fascinated by what they would recommend to golfers to stay in the moment. I started going for a psychology degree but changed to business after year 1.

I would if cost wasn't a factor, but for now I'll just have to keep reading Dr. Rotella's books.

Yes since that is the weakest part of my game. Cost prevents it though so I just read books =)